Halloween!

Non8pumpkinToday I don’t have much time, but we’ve made it to Halloween. I’ve been ramping up my own writing today, after stumbling over a brief spell of whining. As today is the day, I’m doing three favorites.

The first is Number 13 by M.R. James.

The second is Pickman’s Model by H.P. Lovecraft. This one I first encountered as an episode of Night Gallery. It scared the hell out of me, and to read it years later was even more terrifying.

The third is Carmilla by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu, referenced in a previous post. Go lesbian vampires!

And that makes 31 stories in 31 days! Actually, if you count all of the stories in the Vernon Lee collection, there are more. Of course genre is year round, and I’ll probably add more ghost stories to the list and continue to dig up wonderful OTR podcasts among other strange and terrible things.

Happy Halloween!

Now it’s time for  another literary and alliterative project: November Noir! This will include films, short stories, and novels. I’m not promising 30 as the writing will keep me busy, but I’ll try for at least three recommendations per week.

Leave a comment